Beginning, Middle & End: Thoughts on the Omega

Hey Speakerz! Back at it again! This week’s topic is on Alpha and Beta personalities, and how societal pressures cause us to stand as one or the other. I’m a phone person. I would personally much rather speak with someone and hear their vocal inflections as the conversation takes its highs and lows rather than to text or email, etc. I bring that up because this week’s topic came about during a phone conversation and I thought “I’ve Got IT! This is some dope stuff!” and thus thoughts on societal status outside of capitalism were born in me.

According to Webster, the definitions of Alpha and Beta personalities are as follows:

Alpha: the highest ranking individual in a group

Beta: the lower ranking individual in a group

Now if we paid attention to these narrow definitions, you might be sitting there like “well that sucks”. The thing that bugged me the most in this subtle research was just how negative portrayals were the highlight of definitions and research instead of a person to person interaction. Here’s the thing, Alpha’s are the person who takes charge, the Type A, the person proclaimed a “bitch” by society if female and “big man in charge” if male. Alphas are typically the boss. The Beta’s are people who are Type B, laid back, maybe quiet, some might call them lazy or basic. Type B personalities are willing to fade into the background. Now personally, I thought that I was none of these. I’m not a Type A perfectionist, although I have my moments and I’m not a Type B laid back person, although I have my moments there as well. Thus, there emerged the Omega personality.

While Alpha and Beta are the beginning 2 letters of the Greek Alphabet, Omega is the 24th and final letter of the Greek Alphabet. Omega’s are a combination of Beta and Alpha. Possessing more Alpha than Beta, they are like the second in command. DING DING DING! I have found myself! How many of us in society are in the middle?

I always heard that Alpha is the beginning while Omega is the end. Alpha & Omega has a meaning of forever and always, as well. I always tried to fit one or the other. I could never belong solidly in one and I began to think that something was wrong with me, but in actuality, I’m just an animal that is rarely seen and not afraid of my rare status. That’s intimidating in a world where societal norms are so very strong. So what to do now? I always felt narrowed into a box with societal definitions and beyond that, the negative connotation that so many labels have. Maybe, being able to identify with a certain characteristic only further serves as a breadcrumb on the journey of self love and self actualization. Maybe, all that we encounter is really just one more breadcrumb. Why get caught up?

This all had me thinking of the roles that I’ve personally played in people’s lives and on a grander scheme, the roles that every human being plays in our collective lives. I notice that people come into my life when they need healing. are about to make a big choice, and need to see the full picture. Usually, when I enter people’s lives, I’m a good luck charm. Trust me, this is something I’ve put to the test multiple times. The thing about not embracing who we are and what we can do, leaves us with emptiness and in many ways a heavy exhaustion. But if we embrace all of ourselves, the Alpha, the Beta, the Omega, what magic can happen?

Let’s human beings move past the narrow definitions and the negative energy. Let’s just embrace who we are as imperfect and yet beautiful human beings. I do think that there is some truth and worth in the Alpha, Beta and Omega, but is it all of who I can be? Certainly not. I make my future. I design the life that I want and best believe it is phenomenal. I hope yours is too.

 

Love Always,

 

Damali Speaks Xx

Leave a Reply

