Truth or Not: Meditations of Self Confidence & Failure

Hey Speakerz! This week’s blog post is about innerstanding the value of your own self confidence as well as leadership & failure. How do we use our self confidence, our self love, our self worth in the moments that really matter?

If I tell myself that I truly value my work as an artist, a hard worker, a soul-filled entity, but then I do something contradictory to those notions, how much do I truly love myself? How much confidence is “average”? What does it mean to truly have a purpose?

This week has made me think so very hard about who I am in space, mostly because I’ve been around so much wisdom. I love speaking with people who, as my mom would say “Got some years on ’em”. I had the great fortune this week to be able to sit and really listen to people who know way more than me and are willing to share the wisdom that they possess. As a young twenty-something I constantly feel that I’m deconstructing the programming of what is and isn’t true for me. As soon as I find one thing that seems to be true for me, it changes and is suddenly no longer true in the same way. It’s incredibly frustrating but also eye-opening. I can be all the things that I am. The confusing, multi-faceted human being inside of me is worthy of love and truth-seeking.

The theme for the week seems to be “What is your truth?”. If living in the world as it is, is something that no longer works, then what does work? This leads to self-confidence. I’ve always said that if I must fail, I want to fail big. I want to possess the self confidence to make HUGE choices and therefore huge successes or huge failures. How often can we trust ourselves to jump without a net? To hug without the assurance of receiving? To truly love without the guarantee of getting any of it back?

What is a leader? As I thought about that this week, I realized that many of the problems of “millenials” is that we’re new age leaders. We break boundaries without even realizing just what a boundary is. I’ve never wanted to be the worker, I want to be the boss. I’m not and never will be a good worker bee. I’m constantly challenging the status quo. Call it what you will, but I think it makes me unique. Let’s embrace our unique, our special, our truth. In it, we find freedom and isn’t that what all this is about anyway?

 

Love Always,

 

Damali Speaks Xx

Leave a Reply

