Truth: A Discovery of Meaning, Definition & Twists

Lately, it seems that the word “Truth” is following me everywhere that I go. I see it on bumper stickers, on titles of books, on clothes, on facebook; everywhere I turn, I see the word “truth”. This started me thinking about what the Universe was telling me. It was longer “trying” to tell me, but screaming it from every corner of existence. “Look up! Truth!” So, instead of ignoring the breadcrumbs laid for me, I decided to find Webster and start on an adventure.

Truth:

a. sincerity in action, character and utterance

b. the state of being the case; the body of real things, events and facts

In thinking about what is truth, I had to think about blanket truths versus relative truths. Can something that is true for me, not be true for someone else and vice versa? What if I come to a conclusion and it’s only true for me in the moment and then it changes? That’s just it. Being a human being on this plane is difficult partially because of the constant change. We are forever growing and developing, trying new things and failing, flying and instilling new thoughts and behaviors. The truth is that to find the truth, is to embrace change.

As the week went on, I kept finding more examples of truth. I found it in store titles, clothing, buildings etc. It constantly brought me back to my ability to accept change. If I can just live in the moment, I can work through it all. One thing that I’ve been focusing on is finding the truth in myself, on a personal level. What is my personal truth and how do I live in it. As an actor, we strive for living in the moment and being great at it. In addition, we have to know a deeper part of ourselves. I like to think that the characters that I play are simply a deep covered part of myself, and while I tap into them, I shed light where there was once darkness. In order to find those places, I have to embrace the constant change, but also find what is true for me in those moments. Isn’t that what living in the moment is? Not blocking the emotion, but allowing it to pass through, unhindered and find a way out.

I have a friend that says that poison bites two ways: On the way in and on the way out. If that’s true, than acknowledging our personal truths is like medicine that flows in and out. While it hurts, it also heals, if we allow it to. I remember being in my early 20s and how the big thing was the “hook-up  culture” mostly because it allowed room for no feeling. But poison bites two ways and so does truth serum. It isn’t blocking the feeling that human beings are made for. We are hard wired to feel and move on.

How do we twist the truth? Oftentimes, I think that we can either see the glass as half full or half empty and depending on our viewpoint, that’s how our life appears. In how we see the truth, as half full or half empty, we find the fight of the Ego versus the Soul. The Soul sees everything as one, whole and full while the Ego can always find something wrong. how do we learn to twist? To live in the soul? The fullness? If we each find our own truth, can we light the world with it together?

Find your truth. What’s true for me might not be true for you and that’s okay. Stand firm in what you’ve found and let no one compromise it.

Love Always,

Damali Speaks Xx

 

Leave a Reply

