Falling. Akua Naru & Love Jones

EYYYYYY YOOOOOO!!  Told you I was weird. Ok so the topic of today’s entry. I LOVE Akua Naru. If you’ve never listened to her, stop reading this blog, hit up youtube, spotify or soundcloud. Type in A-k-u-a (space) N-a-r-u and then click on Falling. The woman and the song are dope. But really, all her stuff is goose-bump inducing. Now that you’ve heard the song, you know what I’m about to talk about. She opens the song, speaking about one of my FAVORITE movies. Love Jones. (Side note: a black womans’ voice, just talking over a track before the song actually starts is probably the sexiest thing since the invention of essential oils.)

“Y’all runnin around talkin about hoppin and fallin in love. Please somebody just tell me how to stay there.”

She admits to paraphrasing, and I’ll put the vid of the actual moment in the movie down below but it does deserve a post in itself. I realize my last post was pretty deep in depression and I want this blog to be nothing but honest. This one is a bit lighter.

It took me a while to fall in love. I fell in infatuation many a time and then for the first time last year, I fell in love. First, with myself and then with another person. It’s funny, falling in love was surprisingly easy, staying there is another matter entirely. The way I think of infatuation versus love is kinda cray. I think that when I fall in love-and that can be with a friend, family member, significant other, artwork, there are many kinds of love and ways to exist in love-it’s always a subtle promise followed by a big hit of revelation. I slowly and subtely begin to realize that this entity means so much more than I previously thought, deeper than just infatuation. I see them, in more than just a “Oh they give nice hugs or have a cute smile” way. That essence is what is absolutely gorgeous. Falling out of love is just as surprising in reverse. All those things I still recognize, it’s just that they no longer include my existence. Is this to say that love can’t exist over great lengths? Not at all. But why is this? Why is it so easy to fall in love and so rare to stay there? Is that really love?

I remember reading 1 Corinthians 13 one day. I got bored and found a bible laying around.

13 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Have we as a society forgotten what true love really is? Can true love exist where there is racism, sexism, homophobia, and so many others forms of hatred? In the words of Marvin Gaye, what’s goin on?

Leave a Reply

